Voter Registration

To vote in Iowa, you must be registered to vote.

To qualify to register to vote, you must be:

  • A U.S. citizen,
  • An Iowa resident, and
  • At least 17 years old. A person may vote if they will be 18 years old on or before election day. In the case of primary elections, a person may vote if they will be 18 years old on or before the corresponding regular election.

Voter Registration and Updates

  • You may register online or download paper form at the Iowa Secretary of State
  • If using paper form, please mail to:
    • Scott County Auditor
      Attn: Voter Registration Form
      600 W. 4th St.
      Davenport, Iowa 52801
  • After registering to vote, you should receive a Scott County Voter Acknowledgment card listing your polling place. If you do not have an Iowa driver's license or non operator ID card then you will receive a special voter ID card which can be used as your personal identification at the polls instead of a driver's license or non operating card.

Election Day Registration

You may register and vote on election day. To do so, you first must go to the correct polling place for your current address on election day.

If you are unsure of your polling place, Find Your Precinct/Polling Place.

At the polling place, you must prove both who you are and where you live (listed below). The best way to do this is with your valid Iowa driver’s license with your current address printed on it.

Proof of ID

If you do not have an Iowa driver’s license, you may use a photo ID that is current, valid, and contains an expiration date. The following are acceptable IDs:

  • Iowa non-operator ID
  • Out-of-state driver’s license or non-operator ID
  • U.S. passport
  • U.S. military or veteran ID
  • ID card issued by employer
  • Student ID issued by Iowa high school or college
  • Tribal ID card/document

Proof of Residence

If your photo ID does not contain your current address, you may use another document (paper or electronic format) to prove where you live if it contains your name and current address and is current within 45 days. The following are acceptable proofs of residence:

  • Residential lease
  • Utility bill (including a cell phone bill)
  • Bank statement
  • Paycheck
  • Government check or other government document
  • Property tax statement


If you cannot prove who you are and where you live with the documents listed above, a registered voter from your precinct may attest for you. Both you and the attester will be required to sign an oath swearing the statements being made are true.

Falsely attesting or being attested for is registration fraud. It is a class “D” felony and is punishable by a fine of up to $10,245 and up to 5 years in prison.

Registering to Vote After a Felony Conviction

In Iowa, a person’s voter registration is cancelled if the person is convicted of a felony, but the right to vote is restored by the Governor upon completion of the felony sentence as defined in Executive Order Number Seven (described below).

Am I Registered to Vote?