Your Library Card

This is a picture of a Scott County Library Card

Library Card Policies

All residents of rural Scott County can get a Scott County Library system card. You can use your card at any RiverShare Library. Children under the age of 12 must have a parent or legal guardian co-sign their card application.

Most Scott County Library materials check out for three weeks, including books, music, DVDs, Blu-Rays, Video Games, and tablets. QC Attractions passes, hotspots and the telescope check out for 1 week. Cardholders are limited to 1 QC Attractions Pass and 1 tablet per card, we have no limits on other material types. You must have your library card with you to check out materials.

Overdue fines on Scott County items are 10 cents a day, with the exception of juvenile materials which are fine free. Please note that some specialty items such as QC Attractions passes, tablets and book club kits have $1.00 per day fines. Other RiverShare libraries may have different fine policies.

All applicants must provide a valid identification verifying their address. Adults must provide a valid ID that verifies their name and current street address. Children’s applications must be co-signed by a parent or legal guardian showing valid ID. Acceptable IDs that include your current address are:

  • Iowa Driver’s License
  • Iowa State ID
  • Voter’s Registration Card
  • Imprinted Checks
  • Pre-printed lease agreement
  • First-class mail in an envelope postmarked within the last 30 days, along with ID that verifies the name.

You are responsible for all materials checked out on your library card and for fines and charges accrued.

The information on your application is confidential and is protected by Section 22.7 of the Code of Iowa and the Library’s Confidentiality Policy and Privacy Policy.

If your library card is lost or stolen, call (563)285-4794 option 0 to prevent unauthorized use of your card. Replacement cards cost $3.

Please visit your local branch library when there is a change in your name, address, phone number, or contact preferences.

How to Renew Materials

Beginning on January 1, 2022, all eligible items on your account will be automatically renewed. 

Items are eligible if:

  • There are no holds on the item.
  • The user has not exceeded the allowed number of renewals on that item.
  • The item is from a RiverShare Library.

Items not eligible are still due on the original due date given at checkout.

You can log into your library account to view due date information or sign up for notifications to receive due date and auto-renew details via text or email.

Overdue Notice and Billing Notices. An overdue notice is sent to the cardholder approximately 10 days after an item is considered overdue.  Approximately four weeks later, a bill notice is sent, listing the replacement cost of the overdue item, plus a processing fee.  If the item is returned to the Library, the borrower is responsible ONLY for the overdue fines, not for the replacement cost or processing fee.  If the item is not returned and the bill is still outstanding after 6 weeks, the delinquent account may be turned over to a collection agency.

Reciprocal Borrowing. Your library card gives you access to materials at 10 RiverShare libraries! If you borrow materials from libraries other than Scott County Library System, you must abide by their loan periods and policies, which may differ from Scott County Library’s loan periods and policies.

Interlibrary loan is the process by which a library requests material from, or supplies material to, another library outside of RiverShare. Libraries recognize that the sharing of material between libraries is an integral element in the provision of library service and believe it to be in the public interest to encourage such an exchange. In the interest of providing quality service, libraries have an obligation to obtain material to meet the informational needs of users when local resources do not meet those needs. Scott County Library card holders may request an item on Interlibrary Loan (ILL) by contacting the Library’s Information Desk at (563) 285-4794 ext. 2224 or filling out an ILL form at any Scott County Library System branch.

These items are delivered to us at an additional cost for shipping and processing.  We are pleased to provide each Scott County Library cardholder 6 free items each year.  Additional items are subject to a $3 charge to help us recover costs.