
 
 

PUBLIC FIREWORKS DISPLAY PERMIT 
 
 
If you are an organization, corporation, agency or civil group that might be considering a 
fireworks display in the near future there is a Public Fireworks Display Permit that is 
required in the unincorporated areas of Scott County. 
 
You must apply at the Sheriff’s Office and complete an application form providing the 
following: 
 

• Signed Hold Harmless agreement 
• Signed and dated bond not less than one million dollars ($1,000000.00) 
• A copy of the shoot site indicating distance from shoot site, drop zone to 

spectators, buildings  to comply with N.F.P.A. 1123, and diameter of shell to 
distance, etc 

• A copy of company insurance and State of Iowa Workers Compensation 
insurance** 

• A copy of signed company A.T.F. license and A.T.F. Employee letter of 
clearance** 

• Copy of pyrotechnician certificate** 
• A copy of  companies D.O.T. registration number** 
• A complete list of all pyrotechnic devices** 
• Payment of filing fee ($10.00) 

 
** For public display use only.  This does not apply for private display. 
 
All aforementioned paperwork must be submitted to Scott County Sheriff’s Office prior 
to the date of display, at least 3 days in advance. 
 
The Sheriffs Office will review the application and approve or disapprove the 
application. 
 
If denied, the Sheriff’s Office will inform applicant of the reasons(s) for denial.  The 
applicant will have the opportunity to amend the application before the date of  display. 
 
If approved, the applicant will receive the permit which should be kept with the 
supervisor at the time of setup and display of public fireworks. 
 
If you have any questions or concerns you may call the Sheriffs Office at 563-326-8625. 
 
The National Council on Fireworks Safety has a web site with more information and 
safety tips at http://www.fireworksafety.com. 
 
See the Iowa Department of Public Safety web site regarding Iowa fireworks laws. 
http://www.dps.state.ia.us/commis/pib/Releases/2004/fireworks_2004.htm. 
 
 
 



 
 
 

CHECKLIST TO OBTAIN FIREWORKS PERMITS IN SCOTT COUNTY IOWA 
 

 
INFORMATION REQUIRED  
FOR PRIVATE DISPLAY, NOT FOR PAY 
 

 Signed Hold Harmless agreement 
 

 Bond and/or homeowners’ insurance showing fireworks rider in the amount of not 
 less than One Million Dollars ($1,000,000.00). 
 

 A copy of the shoot site indicating the distance from shoot site, drop zone to 
 spectators and buildings that comply with N.F.P.A. 1123 and diameter of shell to 
 distance etc. 
 

 A complete list of all pyrotechnic devices if using 1.3 fireworks.  If using 1.4 
 common fireworks not needed. 
 
 
INFORMATION REQUIRED  
FOR PUBLIC DISPLAY,  FOR PAY 
 

 Signed Hold Harmless agreement 
 

 Bond and/or homeowners’ insurance showing fireworks rider in the amount of not 
 less than One Million Dollars ($1,000,000.00). 
 

 A copy of the shoot site indicating the distance from shoot site, drop zone to 
 spectators and buildings that comply with N.F.P.A. 1123 and diameter of shell to 
 distance etc. 
 

 A complete list of all pyrotechnic devices if using 1.3 OR 1.4 common fireworks 
 

 Copy of ATF&E employee letter of clearance 
 

 A copy of company liability and workers compensation insurance 
 

 A copy of company ATF&E license 
 

 A copy of company D.O.T. registration number. 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 


