New Eastern Iowa Mental Health/Disability Services Region Website

Screen capture of the Eastern Iowa MHDS website.

The Eastern Iowa Mental Health/Disability Services Region introduces new Website

May 17, 2017

Dawn Smith, Chair of the Eastern Iowa MH/DS Region, announces that the Eastern Iowa MH/DS Region has a new website for the citizens of the region. The website was designed with the help of Vortex Business Solutions. The Regional Governing Board of Directors are very pleased with the new website and hope citizens will find it useful and easy to access. The link to the new website is

The Iowa Legislature passed a bill known as the Mental Health Redesign (SF2315) in 2012, which made changes in the state’s adult mental health and disability services system. The legislation (SF2315) changed the way the system is funded and managed. This redesign required counties to work together under a regional structure to deliver non-Medicaid services and set a new menu of “core services” that must be available to Iowans with disabilities no matter where they live. The Eastern Iowa MH/DS Region was formed under Iowa Code Chapter 28E to create a mental health and disability service region in compliance with Iowa Code 331.390. The Region was approved by the Department of Human Services on 5/23/13 and serves Cedar, Clinton, Jackson, Muscatine and Scott Counties. 

Additional questions can be directed to the Eastern Iowa MH/DS Region’s Chair, Dawn Smith, at 563-886-3168.

May 17, 2017