State legislators recently passed a new law enabling Iowa homeowners who are 65 years of age or older a homestead exemption in addition to their homestead credit. Claimants who are 65 years of age or older on or before January 1 of the assessment year are eligible. Homeowners should sign up in person at the Scott County Assessor’s Office to show ID when filling out a new homestead application. Office hours are Monday through Friday 9:00 am to 4:00 pm. For those who sign up on or before July 1, 2023 the exemption will take effect on the 2023 property taxes due in the fall of 2024.
State legislators also recently passed a new law increasing the current amount of the military property tax credit from $1,852 to $4,000. Iowa veteran homeowners do not have to re-apply, the credit will adjust automatically on the 2023 property taxes due in the fall of 2024.