Boat registration renewals can be made online.
New and/or transferred vessels are registered in Scott County. Boat registrations expire on April 30th. (every three years.). Boat fees are based on the length of the boat. All boats over 17' in length (except canoes and kayaks) require a title. All boats with a lien must be titled.
Items needed when transferring a boat:
* Before a recreational vehicle or vessel can be registered a receipt, bill of sale or satisfactory evidence that the sales or use tax has been paid for the purchase of the vehicle. Sales are subject to 7% if purchased in Iowa and 6% use tax if purchased out of state.
Use the following application for duplicate titles, Liens, or transfers:.
Use the following application for duplicate titles, Liens, or transfers.
All boat registrations expire April 30th every three years (2019, 2022, etc). The cost for a new boat registration will be prorated based on the year of registration. A $5.00 penalty is added to the fee for any expired registrations. Please bring current registration with you when renewing.
|No Motor/No Sail||$17.65|
|Motor/Sail under 16 ft||$28.15|
|Motor/Sail 16 to 26 ft||$41.65|
|Motor/Sail 26 to 40 ft||$80.65|
|Jet Skis (PWC)||$50.65|
|Documented Any Length||$30.65|
|Transfer Fee for Boats||$4.50|
|Duplicate Registration Fee for Boats||$4.50|
Per section 45 of SF 413 amended Iowa Code section 423.3(39).