Learn about new Iowa Weapon Permit changes to the law starting July 1, 2021
The Sheriff of your county of residence is the only person who is authorized to issue a weapon permit unless you are a non-resident of Iowa or require a permit as a result of your employment in the State of Iowa, in which case the Commissioner of the Iowa Department of Public Safety will issue your permit to carry. You may contact the Iowa Department of Public Safety by email at [email protected] or by telephone at 515-725-6230.
The Sheriff may issue both a professional and a non-professional permit to the same person if circumstances warrant.
A permit may be issued to a temporary resident of Iowa (i.e. a student residing in Iowa but whose permanent address is in another state or a person on active duty in the armed services stationed at the Rock Island Arsenal).
You will be required to supply the following:
For further assistance please call 563-326-8703.
Please note: Any person who has been convicted of a felony or domestic violence (or misdemeanor crime resulting from domestic violence) will not be issued a permit.
Citizens apply online with the option to pay using a credit/debit card. There is a $4 service fee for all orders along with associated card transaction charges. You may apply in person at the Scott County Sheriff’s Office in the Scott County Courthouse using a kiosk. It is in person at the Sheriff's Office that you may pay by cash or check, but all applications will be submitted online.
IMPORTANT NOTICE - IN ORDER FOR YOUR PERMIT APPLICATION TO BE PROCESSED, YOU MUST PROVIDE
Please have the required documentation ready to upload to the application. You can scan or take pictures of your documentation. The ID must be in color. You can upload the following formats: JPEG, PNG, PDF, TIFF, BMP. Maximum file size is 5MB.
IMPORTANT: As required by the State of Iowa, you must provide training documentation to receive a Permit to Carry. Your permit application will not be processed and issued if this information is not provided. You can upload these documents when submitting your application.
If applying to RENEW your permit, you must upload the identification. No additional training is needed. You just need to provide proof of existing permit.
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 4, 2018, ALL APPROVED PERMITS WILL BE MAILED TO THE PERMIT HOLDER FROM THE STATE OF IOWA. Permits will NO LONGER be available for pick up at the Sheriff's Office.
DO I NEED TO FILL OUT THE NEW GUN PERMIT APPLICATION OR RENEWAL APPLICATION?
Answer these questions to figure out if you are qualified for a Renewal or if you should fill out the New Application.
If you have answered YES to all of the above questions, you qualify for a Renewal.
If you have answered NO to any of the above questions, you do not qualify for a Renewal. You must fill out the New Application. Certificates of training cannot be older than 2 years for an initial application for the carry permit.