Board of Health

Board of Health

Scott County Board of Health (from left to right: Mr. Sherwin Robinson, Dr. Ann O'Donnell (Vice Chair), Dr. Kathleen Hanson (Chairman), Dr. Sydney Schermer, Dr. Michael Franzman) 

The Scott County Board of Health:

The Scott County Health Department is governed by the Scott County Board of Health (BOH), which consists of five members appointed by the Board of Supervisors.

  • The Chairman of the Board of Health is Dr. Kathleen Hanson. Dr. Hanson is a nurse and a retired professor from the University of Iowa’s College of Nursing.
  • The Vice-Chair is Dr. Ann O’Donnell, is an internal medicine physician who serves as Medical Director for Post Acute Care and ACO Transitions of Care at Genesis Health System. 
  • Mr. Sherwin Robinson is the owner of 4 Sher Barber Shop and the founder of A System Within a System, an organization established to increase health equity by pooling community resources in an effort to expose youth to the importance of health decision making and lifestyles. 
  • Dr. Sydney Schermer is a veterinarian at Glenroads Veterinay Clinic who attended Drake University before continuing veterinary studies at the Royal Veterinary College in London, England.
  • Dr. Michael Franzman is a dentist and periodontist with Quad Cities Periodontics. He graduated from Wartburg College, the University of Iowa College of Dentistry where he also completed his residency in periodontics and reconstructive dentistry.

History and Recognitions:

The Scott County Board of Health was formed and convened for the first time in January of 1968. This was a result of the Local Health Act of 1967, whereby cities with a population of 25,000 or more had the option to join a county organization, continue locally, or disband.

It is important to note that the City of Davenport's Board of Health, "Health Officer" was Dr. John H. Sunderbruch, M.D. Dr. Sunderbruch was instrumental in this county-wide transition and became a member of the first Scott County Board of Health and had served continuously until his death in March 2006.

Business Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Monday through Friday except on holidays

Email: [email protected]

The following codes for Local Boards of Health help guide the Scott County Board of Health in its activities:

Vision Statement:

Scott County - A safe and healthy community.

Mission Statement:

The Scott County Health Department promotes, protects, and preserves health through leadership, service, education and partnerships.